Friday 8 February 2013


Candy Jar are proud to present The Countess and the Mole Man, an anthology containing the winning entries from the South Wales Short Story Competition 2012.

We received over one hundred entries from around the world but sadly we could not use them all. Over six weeks, we read, re-read and re-re-read all of the entries as we slowly whittled down the list. Our initial plan was to have only twelve winning stories but, being unable to decide at the last hurdle, we found ourselves congratulating thirteen writers.

The overall winner of the competition was Laura Foakes with her story (and title of the book) The Countess and the Mole Man, a quirky and enjoyable tale told from the perspective of a mental health patient.

Three of the winning stories come highly commended; Beautifully Greek by Georgia Carys Williams, A Passing Front by Jane Fraser and The Birthday Treasure Hunt by Noelle Bryant.

The remaining seven winning stories are:
- The F Word by Ian Fisher
- Whatever Happened to the Humble Pies by Stella Wells
- The Day of the Trifles by Ross Warren
- Seven Steps, Door by Dan Crowley
- All But One by Taylor Cook
- My Beloved Monster by Carly Holmes
- A Single Drop of Rain by Rhys Bevan-Edwards
- Just Another Face in the Wall by David Byrne
- Last Day by Natalie Ann Holborow

We would like to thank everybody who entered The South Wales Short Story Competition and we hope that the competition's second outing in 2013 is as successful. Congratulations again to our winners.

The Countess and the Mole Man is available now on Kindle. If you would like to buy your copy, please click here.

You can also pre-order the paperback edition from the Candy Jar website. Please click the link below to pre-order your copy now!

The Countess and the Mole Man - Pre-order

No comments:

Post a Comment